Skip to main content

Phillips 66 refineries take industry’s top safety honors

A record five Phillips 66 refineries captured the U.S. industry’s highest safety honor for their outstanding performance in 2019, demonstrating the company’s unwavering commitment to operating excellence.


Bayway in New Jersey, Borger in the Texas Panhandle, Ferndale in Washington state, Louisiana’s Lake Charles and the San Francisco Refinery’s Santa Maria plant have earned the American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers’ Distinguished Safety Award. The awards are presented annually to member companies and operations that display an exemplary level of safety performance.


“These awards are well deserved by our winners and a testament to their commitment to being industry leaders in safety performance,” Phillips 66 Executive Vice President of Refining Bob Herman said. “Every day we work hard to be better than yesterday.”


Chevron Phillips Chemical, a joint venture between Phillips 66 and Chevron, also won top honors for its specialty chemicals plant in Borger, capping an extraordinary showing for Phillips 66.


More than 350 eligible


AFPM, a leading trade association for U.S. refiners and chemical manufacturers, is awarding nine Distinguished Safety Awards for 2019. More than 350 refineries, chemical plants and related operations were eligible to apply, and 29 were deemed to meet the required criteria for consideration.


The awards are part of a program developed by the AFPM Safety and Health Committee to promote safe operations in the refining and petrochemical industries.


Distinguished Safety Award winners represent the very best of safety performance in the industry. AFPM recognizes other strong performers with Elite Gold and Elite Silver honors.


Ferndale and Borger are first-time recipients after improving on their Elite Gold and Elite Silver honors for their 2018 performance, respectively. Bayway previously earned the Distinguished Safety Award for its 2017 performance. Lake Charles did so for 2016, and Santa Maria most recently in 2011. Other past winners include Ponca City (for 2018) and Billings (2008).